Lemon Meringue Pie was probably my Dad’s favorite pie. He made it every chance he had. Every time I make a one, I make the biggest mess. By the time I was finished, I was covered in flour, lemon juice and cream of tartar. I was trying to open the container–it was new. And it was full of air. Well, it puffed all over my face. I was a mess. Anyway, here’s the recipe.
For the first time in more than 20 years, I made the crust. I’m way out practice and it didn’t make it all the way to edge of the pan. But it tastes good and that’s all that matters.

Printable Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe.

Crust
Makes two crusts for either one two crust pie or two one crust. As my little niece would say, duh.
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup shortening
4 to 8 tablespoons water
Mix flour and salt in a large bowl. Cut in the shortening with a pastry cutter until crumbly. Add water until the dough sticks together. Divide into two dough balls and store in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
Roll crust out on a floured surface about 2 inches larger than the pie pan. Make sure to flour the rolling pin.

Bake crust for about 8 to 10 minutes at 450 degrees.

Filling
3 large egg yolks
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/3 cup plus one tablespoon corn starch
1 1/2 cups water
3 tablespoons stick butter
2 teaspoons lemon zest
1/2 cup lemon juice
Beat egg yolks and set aside. Mix sugar and cornstarch in a 2-quart sauce pan. Gradually stir in water. Cook at medium stirring constantly until mixture boils and thickens. Continue cooking for about one minute. Remove from heat a rapidly stir half the mixture into the egg yolks–work as quickly as possible to avoid scrambled eggs. Boil and stir for one more minute.
Remove from heat and stir in butter, lemon zest and juice. Pour into pie crust.
Meringue
3 large egg whites
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
5 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Beat eggs whites and cream of tartar in a medium bowl until foamy. Beat in sugar a teaspoon at a time until the mixture is stiff and glossy. Do not underbeat. Beat in vanilla. Spoon onto hot pie filling.
