I love apple pie. Let me tell you about the making of this pie. The bottom crust rolled out perfectly–it could not have gone any better. The top crust, well, it had other things on its mind. It cracked right away. Then my brother comes in and says: “Are those apples going to be any good. They’re green.” To which I say, “Apple pies are supposed to be made with tart apples.” Well, now I’m aggravated. And the second rolling out of the top crust didn’t get any better. But I got it on the pie. That’s the important part. Right?

OK. So after the pie is out of the oven and has gotten its picture taken, we cut it and ate it. Now my brother says: “That was really good. It was better than the pie from Kings.” Really? It was better than a pie you bought? Well, thanks. I think. Anyway, I know he meant as a compliment.

Printable Apple Pie Recipe.

 And this recipe makes a good apple pie. Enjoy it.

Crust
Makes two crusts for either one two crust pie or two one crust. As my little niece would say, duh.
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup shortening
4 to 8 tablespoons water
 


Make sure you start with crumbly dough.

Mix flour and salt in a large bowl. Cut in the shortening with a pastry cutter until crumbly. Add water until the dough sticks together. Divide into two dough balls and store in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

 
Roll crust out on a floured surface about 2 inches larger than the pie pan. Make sure to flour the rolling pin.
 

Apple Filling
1/3 to 2/3 cups sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
Dash of salt
8 cups of thinly sliced peeled apples (about 8 medium apples)
2 tablespoons of stick butter



I like to use Granny Smith apples for pie.

Heat oven to 425 degrees.

Mix sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in small bowl. Stir in apples. Turn into a pastry lined pie pan. Dot with butter. Cover with second pastry crust. Seal and flute (cut holes in top crust–you can slit it in several places or just poke with a fork). Cover edge with aluminum foil. Remove during last 15 minutes of baking (I did not do this part and my edges were over baked).

Bake for 40 to 50 minutes (40 minutes was perfect for my pie and maybe a little too long). Serve warm with ice cream. Yum.

