My Dad was a big time pie maker. There were days when he would make two lemon meringue pies, two chocolate, and two butterscotch. I was a big fan of the chocolate pies in those days. Dad’s favorite was lemon meringue hands down. Printable Chocolate Pie Recipe.

This chocolate pie is a bit his recipe and a bit mine. And it is the chocolatiest chocolate pie I have ever made. I hope you enjoy it.

Pastry for a nine-inch pie. Get this crust and lemon meringue recipe.

4 large egg yolks, slightly beaten
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups milk
2 tablespoons stick butter
2 teaspoons vanilla
6 oz. bittersweet chocolate (I used Ghiradelli’s)

Beat yolks in a small bowl. Mix sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a 2-quart sauce pan. Gradually stir in milk. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until mixture boils. Cook and stir for one minute.

Slowly but immediately pour about half the mixture the egg while beating constantly. This is tricky. Work fast. Then immediately pour the egg mixture back into the pan, return to heat and stir constantly while the mixture returns to a boil. Cook another minute.

Remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla. Immediately stir in chocolate (I used chocolate chips, but if you use bar chocolate make sure to cut into small pieces ahead of time. If you wait the chocolate may not melt like it should.)

I put a meringue on my pie. But you can just use whipped topping or whatever you like. Enjoy your pie.

 

