Ok. I’m cheating a bit. This recipe is from the back of a Hershey’s Cocoa Natural Unsweetened box of cocoa powder. This is by far the best chocolate cake recipe I have used. So why mess with perfection?

I am a chocoaholic. I fully admit that. But I would also put cream cheese frosting on a rock and eat it. So I combined those two things to make this cake. I used a 9 x 13 pan, but you could certainly make this as a layer cake. And it would probably be prettier. Today, my intent was to make a chocolate cake and eat it as soon as possible. So that’s what I did.

Hershey’s “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake
2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups flour
3/4 cup Hershey’s Cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking power
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup boiling water

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9 x 13 inch cake pan or two 8-inch round cake pans.

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add eggs, milk, vegetable oil and vanilla. Beat at medium speed for 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water. Batter will be thin. Pour into baking pan(s). Baker for about 33 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted in the center of cake  comes out clean.

Now you can frost this cake using whatever frosting recipe you prefer. I prefer cream cheese frosting. Like I said earlier, I would eat a rock frosted with it.

Perfect Cream Cheese Frosting recipe.

