When I decided to make this today, I realized that my cooking influence comes from my Dad. All of the foods that he loved, I love. Biscuits and gravy, fried cabbage and hot peppers, and anything sweet.

Today I made creamed chicken and biscuits. And it was excellent.

For the creamed chicken, I used this recipe:

1/4 cup butter
1 finely chopped onion
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/3 cup flour
1 1/2 cup chicken broth
1 1/2 cup milk
2 to 3 cups of shredded chicken (I used breast meat from a rotisserie chicken)
salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a 3-quart sauce pan. Add the onion and garlic powder, and saute until the onions smell wonderful. Stir in the flour and continue stirring until it is absorbed by the fat and covers the onions. Now gradually add the chicken broth. You should end up with a thick paste. Slowly stir in the milk. Continue stirring until the mixture boils. Cook and stir for a few more minutes until the mixture thickens. Add chicken. You now have creamed chicken. Yum.

I used the biscuit recipe I used for my sausage gravy and biscuits post.

P.S. I noticed that my fork was spotty in the photo. But it was clean. I just need to remember to polish my utensils before I take photos of them.

Update on the creamed chicken: The leftovers are almost as good on toast as on biscuits. But not quite. They’re still good though.
 

