Despite a long weekend filled with disappointments, I finally have something to celebrate. I came very close to duplicating a brownie recipe I was famous for when I was a kid. I have never found the exact recipe, but this is so close, I’ll take it. My brother said I may have improved upon the original, So here goes:

2 sticks of butter

2 cups of sugar

2 teaspoons of vanilla

4 eggs

6 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups four

1/2 tablespoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt butter and coco powder together. Set aside. Beat eggs, sugar, and vanilla together until fluffy. Pour the butter and cocoa mixture into the egg/sugar mixture and beat together. Mix together dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Slowly mix into the cocoa mixture. Mix together until well incorporated.  Pour into a 9 x 13 greased and floured cake pan. Bake for approximately 40 minutes. Brownies are done when a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

