Why I decided to bake a lasagna on one the hottest days of the year, well, I wanted lasagna. This is a classic recipe. However, I did not make he sauce. It’s spaghetti sauce. But hey, I’ll make one completely from scratch this winter when I don’t feel so bad about heating up the house.

What you need:

one pound of ground beef (I use 90/10 because I like less fat. But you can use what you like.)

1 jar of spaghetti sauce at least 32 ounces. I used a slighter bigger jar because I like lots of sauce.

1 30 ounce container of ricotta cheese

2 cups of mozzarella

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley (I had some in my little herb garden)

1 egg

16 lasagna noodles (Yeah. This makes a lot.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook the noodles according to directions. Once their nice and tender give them a good rinse and then lay them out on paper towels so the don’t stick together.

Brown the ground beef and add the spaghetti sauce.

Mix ricotta, egg, parsley, 1 1/2 cups of mozzarella, and 1/3 cup of parmesan.

I used a large glass baking dish–a Temptations dish. This dish is about 10 x 15. So it’s pretty big. If you don’t want to use such a big dish, cut back on the noodles to 12 and use a 9 x 13.

Now you are going to work in layers. First put some sauce on the bottom of the dish. Next a row of noodles. More sauce and noodles. Now you get to use the ricotta mixture. Spoon it on and smooth it out. Another row of noodles and keep working until your ingredients are used up. Top with remaining cheese.

Bkae for about 45 minutes. Allow it cool for at least 20 minutes before cutting. Enjoy.

